How were members of the commission chosen?

Facebook and eight ideologically diverse nonprofit foundations together chose Gary King and Nathaniel Persily as co-chairs and then the co-chairs chose other members. King and Persily developed the model that led to this partnership, and each have long-standing reputations as nonpartisan, distinguished academic researchers. Although the nonprofit foundations are no longer involved in the project, King and Persily continue in their roles overseeing peer review and working on further data to share. See and for more information.
See also: Facebook